Home Page

Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage


The Foundation Stage covers children’s education and development from birth to 5 years. This includes our Pre-School for 2 year olds, our nursery for 3-4 year olds, which we call Foundation 1 (F1), and the Reception year, which we call Foundation 2 (F2). 

The Foundation Stage curriculum is made up of 7 areas of learning and development. These are:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

We plan a range of learning experiences to help children develop in all of these areas of learning. We encourage and promote opportunities to allow children to express the characteristics of effective learning in their play.

Characteristics of Effective Learning

  • Playing and Exploring – Children investigate and experience things and ‘have a go’
  • Active Learning – Children concentrate and keep on trying if they encounter difficulties and enjoy achievements.
  • Creating and thinking critically – Children have and develop their own ideas, make links between ideas, and develop strategies for doing things.



Learning and Development - What to Expect When

Reception (F2) Curriculum Map