Home Page


Queenswell Infant and Nursery School

Governing Body


Name Position
Sacha Alter

Chair of Governors, Co-Opted Governor

Rachel Connell

Vice-Chair of Governors & Parent Governor

Karen Smith &

Leanne Oppenheimer

Co-Head Teacher Governor
Sylvia Snijders Co-Opted Governor
Amanda Van Der Merwe Co-Opted Governor
Elizabeth Stutman Staff Governor
Emma Oyetey Parent Governor
Derek Ephgrave Parent Governor
David Hood Parent Governor
Robert Payne Parent Governor 
Robert Waterman LA Governor (non-voting)
Emma Wilkinson Clerk to the Governors

Our Governing Body


Governors are the strategic leaders of schools and have a vital role to play in making sure every child gets the best possible education.  Governing bodies have a strong focus on three core strategic functions:


  • ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff; and
  • overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.


The Governors at Queenswell Infant and Nursery School support and where necessary challenge the professional team of staff by reviewing progress against objectives and advising on next steps. The Governing Body is made up of parents, staff, members of the local community and Local Authority representatives.  Meetings are held termly, with sub-committees meeting regularly across the areas of the curriculum, resources and premises and promotions.


The Governors and staff work together to ensure Queenswell Infant and Nursery School continues to create new opportunities for success and happiness for all our pupils. This involves making decisions about new and exciting ways for pupils to learn and creating an inspirational educational environment.


If you would like to find out about how to become a Governor please ask at the School office.